Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
TP set up
17-10-2011, 08:47 PM
Post: #1
TP set up
TP set up
I upgraded my SD set top box to HD DVR last week.And I have a doubt regarding Transponder (TP) set up. My 6 TP’s are set up as given below. I found in none of the transponders the Strength is 100% and it’s less than or equal to 25% in case of 11609(H) and 11672(H). When asked to Engineers they told it’s ok and there will be no problem. I am able to get all the channels without any problem. But still worried whether both quality and signal to be 100% to get best quality picture.

[Image: 11672H.jpg]
[Image: 11609V.jpg]
[Image: 11609H.jpg]
[Image: 11546V.jpg]
[Image: 11483V.jpg]
[Image: 11672V.jpg]
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 12:28 AM
Post: #2
RE: TP set up
your LNB position on ur dish is not correct...............
Rotate your Lnb .. you will get full signals of all freqs..............
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 09:05 AM
Post: #3
200
RE: TP set up
yes SUDSEJ9SHA is right from some day horizontal freq the signal is very weak but getting picture with out any problem . vertical getting good signal................

Heart//DD Direct plus// Asianet Digital TV // Reliance Digital TV HD DVR// D2H HDHeart
Satellites Receiving : Ku Band : Measat3 ,NSS6 ,NSS12,Asiasat5,Insat4b,ST2,
[Image: party.gif]
[Image: w1y6pk.gif]
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 01:05 PM
Post: #4
200
RE: TP set up
You can ask CC to send a engineer to your home and he will check it for you.

Never hate people who are jealous of you, but respect their jealousy. They're people who think that you're better than them.
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Post: #5
RE: TP set up
(18-10-2011 01:05 PM)Bapun Raz Wrote:  You can ask CC to send a engineer to your home and he will check it for you.

I called up CC on the next day of installation. But they said if you are getting error message then only they can take complaint. And I think if you call CC also they will send same engineers. Already 3 engineers visited my house during installation. I have sent email to cc and they said will get back.
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 04:48 PM
Post: #6
RE: TP set up
(18-10-2011 12:28 AM)Jingesh99 Wrote:  your LNB position on ur dish is not correct...............
Rotate your Lnb .. you will get full signals of all freqs..............

I tried adjusting LNB myself but still there was no improvement in signal strength for horizontal tp's.
Like PostLike Reply
18-10-2011, 05:09 PM
Post: #7
RE: TP set up
Okie , then distort the lnb alignment and then ask CC to visit your house and also instruct them to send different engineer.

And at the time of installation insist them to set all TPs on 100 %
Like PostLike Reply
19-10-2011, 08:19 PM
Post: #8
RE: TP set up
Thanks DOD. I did the same thing and raised the complaint yesterday night telling them that i am not getting the hindi channels and channels are getting stuck. And told them to send the different engr. Today they sent different engr. I told him to get me 100% quality and stength. He tried a lot but couldn't do that and told LNB might be having problem and will come back tomorrow evening with new LNB and check.
Like PostLike Reply
20-10-2011, 05:49 PM
Post: #9
RE: TP set up
The engr camr in the same day evening with new LNB and set it right. Now i am getting 100% quality and 90-95% of strength in all TP's.
Like PostLike Reply




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)