• Welcome to DreamDTH.com - an online community for the television and tech enthusiasts!

    Please Register or Login yourself to ask a question, participate in a discussion.

Discussion The Political Discussions & Debates thread

Bapun Raz

Staff member
3 Nov 2010


Dream Legend
8 Feb 2016
West Bengal CM and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee: Moon Moon Sen will be our candidate from Asanasol, Satabdi Roy from Birbhum. ©ANI

Bapun Raz

Staff member
3 Nov 2010

Johan Philip

5 Jun 2013
BSNL Crisis Continues: Over 1.68 Lakh Employees Yet to Receive Salary

This is the first time in BSNL’s 18 years that the company has not been able to pay salary to about 1.68 lakh employees.

BSNL Crisis Continues: Over 1.68 Lakh Employees Yet to Receive Salary | NewsClick
This type of thing are only going to hurt the ruling party as it was at the time of election I don't know why it happening now If it was after election the ruling party can easily disinvested it


Dream Legend
7 Apr 2012
TMC announces candidates on all 42 seats of West Bengal:

1. South Kolkata - Mala Roy (Previously from Congress, joined TMC in 2015) (New Candidate)
2. North Kolkata - Sudip Bandopadhyay (Old MP)
3. Dumdum - Sougata Roy (Professor, Old MP)
4. Cooch Behar - Paresh Chandra Adhikary (Initially from Left Front)
5. Alipurduar - Dasarath Tirkey (Old MP)
6. Ghatal - Dipak Adhikary (Dev) (Tollywood Filmstar, Old MP)
7. Jalpaiguri - Bijoy Chandra Barman (Old MP)
8. Darjeeling - Amar Singh Rai (New Candidate, initially from Gorkha Jonomukti Morcha)
9. Raiganj - Kanaia Lal Agarwal (New Candidate)
10. Balurghat - Arpita Ghosh (Dramatist, Old MP)
11. Maldah North - Mausam Benajir Noor (Recently shifted from Congress, Old Congress MP)
12. Maldah South - Dr Moazzem Hossain (New Candidate)
13. Jangipur - Khalilur Rahman (New Candidate)
14. Baharampur - Apurba Sarkar (New Candidate)
15. Murshidabad - Abu Taher Khan (New Candidate)
16. Krishnanagar - Mahua Maitra (New Candidate)
17. Ranaghat - Rupali Biswas (New Candidate)
18. Barrackpore - Dinesh Tribedi (Old MP)
19. Barasat - Kakali Ghosh Dastidar (Doctor, Old MP)
20. Basirhat - Nusrat Jahan (Tollywood Filmstar, New Candidate)
21. Jaynagar - Pratima Mandal (Old MP)
22. Jadavpur - Mimi Chakraborty (Tollywood Filmstar, New Candidate)
23. Howrah - Prasun Banerjee (Footballer, Old MP)
24. Uluberia - Sajda Ahmed (Old MP)
25. Sreerampore - Kalyan Banerjee (Old MP)
26. Hooghly - Ratna De Nag (Doctor, Old MP)
27. Arambagh - Aparupa Poddar (Afrin Ali) (Old MP)
28. Tamluk - Dibyendu Adhikary (Old MP)
29. Kanthi - Sishir Adhikary (Old MP)
30. Jhargram - Beerbaha Soren (New Candidate)
31. Midnapore - Manas Ranjan Bhunia (Doctor,Previously from Congress, New Candidate)
32. Purulia - Mriganko Mahato (Doctor, Old MP)
33. Bankura - Subrata Mukherjee (Present Panchayat Minister, New Candidate)
34. Bishnupur - Shyamal Santra (Old MP)
35. Bardhaman Purba - Sunil Kumar Mandal (Old MP)
36. Bardhaman Durgapur - Mumtaz Sanghomitra (Old MP)
37. Asansol - Sreemati Dev Varma (Munmun Sen) (Constituency changed from Bankura to Asansol, Old MP of Bankura)
38. Bolpur - Asit Kumar Mal (New Candidate)
39. Birbhum - Shatabdi Roy (Tollywood Filmstar, Old MP)
40. Bangaon - Mamata Bala Thakur (Old MP)
41. Mathurapur - Chowdhury Mohan Jatua (Old MP)
42. Diamond Harbour - Abhishek Banerjee (Our CM'S brother, Old MP)

Left Front too announced two candidates:

1. Raiganj - Mohammad Selim (Current MP)
2. Murshidabad - Badruzza Khan (Current MP).

Congress and BJP are yet to announce any candidates.
Last edited:
Top Bottom