Bigg Boss: A total recap about the winners, the lovers and Salman Khan


21 Jun 2013
Reaction score
It’s that time of the year when getting tucked in our beds by 10 pm will become oh-so-important. You’ll have to finish all office work, have your dinner, finish the daily chores and switch on your television screens. And this is going to be your life for the next three months or so. Because it’s Bigg Boss time!

Indian television’s most controversial show is set to return with its tenth season. And while its host Salman Khan remains the same, its format has changed a bit this time. For the first time, the Bigg Boss has opened the gate of the house for commoners. So while we hear it’ll be half celebrities, and half of those people from daily walks of life, who could book a seat for themselves inside the house through auditions. But even before the big show begins telecast on October 16, we thought of doing a quick recap of all the previous nine seasons, who participated, who won, who was thrown out mid-show, and who stirred controversies. The show began way back in 2006. And 10 years later, so much has changed. We know each one of us leads a busy life. Hence, keeping track of all the celebrities on Bigg Boss must be a challenge for you. This might be of some help. Read on.

1. Season One

Rakhi Sawant, known for her bold statements, was one of the main faces of the first season.

Winner: Rahul Roy

Famous participants: Rakhi Sawant, Ravi Kishan, Carol Gracias, Amit Sadh, Baba Sehgal, Deepak Tijori, Anupama Verma, Kashmira Shah and Bobby Darling.

Remembered for: Motormouth Rakhi Sawant’s constant catfights with Kashmira Shah considering both competed in who would add more glamour to the show. Even the silly fight Rakhi had with actor Amit Sadh over a mug.

2. Season Two

Payal Rohatgi had revealed that she was dating Rahul Mahajan at that time. But Rahul’s priorities changed when he met Monica Bedi inside the house.

Winner: Ashutosh Kaushik

Famous participants: Jade Goody, Diana Hayden, Monica Bedi, Payal Rohatgi, Rahul Mahajan, Raja Choudhary, Sambhavana Seth and Zulfi Syed.

Remembered for: The famous love triangle between Payal-Rahul-Monica. Remember the swimming pool episode? Also the cosying up of Raja and Sambhavana, who allegedly even kissed during the show.

3. Season Three

KRKs famous dialogue about his lavish life and the way he imports his food and water too, still invites laughter.

Winner: Vindu Dara Singh

Famous participants: KRK, Shamita Shetty, Tanaaz and Bakhtiyaar Irani, Rohit Verma, Sherlyn Chopra, Raju Srivastav, Poonam Dhillon, Claudia Ciesla and Pravesh Rana.

Remembered for: KRK threw a bottle at Rohit and was thrown out of the house for violence. Though he soon returned as a changed man full of apologies! Also, Shamita Shetty quitting the show mid-way due to sister Shilpa Shetty’s wedding.

4. Season Four

This was one of the most controversial seasons, which had everything in extremes, both love and fights.

Winner: Shweta Tiwari

Famous participants: Ashmit Patel, Veena Malik, Dolly Bindra Aanchal Kumar, Manoj Tiwari, Samir Soni, Sara Khan and Rahul Bhatt, along with Khali and Pamela Anderson as guests.

Remembered for: The famous messages between Ashmit and Veena, who waited for the night to get intimate. Also Sara Khan’s made-up wedding to then boyfriend Ali Merchant to get TRPs. Not to miss the mayhem called Dolly Bindra, and her ‘baap pe mat jaana’ brawl with Manoj Tiwari over a few eggs in the kitchen. Oh yes, even her rowdy physical clash with Shweta, leaving the latter with bruises.

5. Season Five

Sunny Leone ’s entry inside the house raised many eyebrows because she was a well know adult star already.

Winner: Juhi Parmar

Famous participants: Sunny Leone, Pooja Misrra, Shakti Kapoor, Pooja Bedi, Raageshwari, Mahek Chahal, Akashdeep Saigal and Siddharth Bhardwaj.

Remembered for: Pooja ‘spare me’ Missra picking up fights with all the housemates. When she slammed a door on the face of Sidharth, things went out of hand. Also, filmmaker Mahesh Bhatt walking inside the house and offering Sunny her debut film Jism 2. And Akashdeep aka Sky’s big fight with Mahek and when he openly accused host Salman Khan of favouritism.

6. Season Six

Imam Siddique’s impulsive nature and picking up a fight with every one, gave this season its TRPs.

Winner: Urvashi Dholakia

Famous participants: Navjot Singh Sidhu, Imam Siddique, Sapna Bhavnani, Delnaaz Irani, Rajiv Paul, Aashka Goradia, Sayantani Ghosh and Sana Khan.

Remembered for: The male version of Rakhi Sawant, we call him Imam Siddique. His infamous face-off with Urvashi. He was so weird that he wore a body suit after one particular fight and even claimed that Salman owed him money! Also, Sapna’s remark that Salman was a ‘serial woman-beater’. The newly separated couple Delnaaz and Rajiv, trying to escape each other’s gaze the entire time.

7. Season Seven

Though Kushal was a major support for Gauahar inside the house, their love couldn’t survive once the show got over.

Winner: Gauahar Khan

Famous participants: Kushal Tandon, Tanisha Mukherjee, Armaan Kohli, VJ Andy, Pratyusha Banerjee, Kamya Punjabi, Sangram Singh, Elli Avram, Sofia Hayat, Ajaz Khan and Hazel Keech.
Remembered for: Kushal-Gauahar’s blossoming romance. And so was Tanisha-Armaan’s. Salman’s openly biased behaviour towards Tanisha and his favourite Elli. Kushal’s big fight with Andy which lead to his eviction. Armaan hitting Sofia accidentally and Sofia filing a police complaint against him outside the house.

8. Season Eight

This season had more romance than action. Gautam and Diandra were a thing from the very go.

Winner: Gautam Gulati

Famous participants: Karishma Tanna, Upen Patel, Diandra Soares, Arya Babbar, Minissha Lamba, Puneet Issar, Ali Quli Mirza, Dimpy Ganguli and Sushant Divgikar.

Remembered for: Gautam and Diandra’s under the sheet intimacy and Diandra allegedly getting pregnant during the show. Another romance which got the name ‘Upma’, though Karishma and Upen couldn’t sustain it for long outside the house. Arya’s confessions that he and Minissha were exes. Ali’s attempts at escaping the house when Sonali Raut slapped him. Plus the mirchi episode between Karishma and Gautam.

9. Season Nine

Kishwer accused the producers that she was forced to quit the show by taking Rs. 15 lakhs,against her will.

Winner: Prince Narula

Famous participants: Rimi Sen, Kishwer Merchant, Suyyash Rai, Mandana Karimi, Yuvika Chaudhary, Aman Verma, Rochelle Rao, Keith Sequeira, Rishabh Sinha, Priya Malik, Nora Fatehi.

Remembered for: Two major real life romances — Suyyash-Kishwer and Keith-Rochelle. Prince first tried to woo Yuvika and after her eviction, his love story with Nora. Also Rishabh’s everyday fierce challenges to Prince. Kishwer’s spitting episode and when she became a dog. A stone-figure in the house called Rimi Sen, who disappointed audience and Salman alike.

While we see as the Bigg Boss seasons have progressed, so have the controversies, romances, fights and twists. What lies ahead in the latest season ten is yet to be seen. One thing is for sure, it’s surely going to be one hell of a roller coaster ride when common man will clash with the celebrities. Will the stars continue to shine, or will the aam admi take over? Popcorn tubs ready!
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock