Sayyed Iqbal Abdulla wins the Citibank Rising Star Award 2011

  • Thread starter Bapun
  • Start date
  • Replies: Replies 0
  • Views: Views 1,306


Staff member
Community Manager
3 Nov 2010
Reaction score
Mumbai: Kolkata Knight Riders ’ bowler Sayyed Iqbal Abdulla has been named Winner of the 2011
Citibank Rising Star Award. The Citibank Rising Star
Award recognizes the best under-23 player of the
DLF IPL season. The trophy is adjudicated by an
eminent jury including former Indian cricketers
Ravi Shastri and Sunil Gavaskar. Sanjeev Kapur, Chief Marketing Officer, Citi India presented Iqbal
Abdulla with the trophy and cheque. The twenty-year-old, Iqbal Abdulla was named the
best young player of this year's season ahead of
other strong contenders including Virat Kohli and
Ravi Jadeja. He ended the season with 16 wickets at
19.06 with an economy rate of only 6.1. Mr. Chirayu Amin, Chairman, IPL said "The Citibank
Rising Star Award highlights a valuable benefit of
the DLF IPL to Cricket in India. This is a league in
which talent meets opportunity and Iqbal Abdulla
has taken full advantage of playing with and
against the world's best to show his potential in the T20 form of the game. We congratulate him on an
outstanding season and wish him all the best in his
future endeavours on the field. He has now become
a role model for many young cricketers." Sanjeev Kapur, Chief Marketing Officer, Citi India
said, "Our association with IPL goes much beyond
brand-building. Through the Citibank Rising Star
Award, we hope to encourage young cricketing
talent for their outstanding contribution in the
Indian Premier League. Our young players are full of promise, talent and the way they are putting in
their efforts, it indicates a bright future for the
game. We are delighted to recognize Iqbal Abdulla
as the Citibank Rising Star this season, who is truly
deserving of the award. We hope that he will make
both his country and his fans across the globe proud in the years to come.” Receiving the award, Iqbal Abdulla said, "It is a
great honour to receive the Citibank Rising Star
Award and be recognized for my performance so
early on in my career. I am thankful to Citibank and
the jury members who have held me worthy of this
award. I enjoyed playing alongside some of the legends of the game and hope to perform even
better in the future.” Previous winners of the Citibank Rising Star Award
have been Shreevats Goswami (2008), Rohit
Sharma (2009) and Saurabh Tiwary (2010).

Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock