• Welcome to DreamDTH Forums
    An online community for the television enthusiasts!
    Log in or Register

Seeking Help Tata Play Binge Plus 4K and LG CX Red Screen Issue

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
Guys I need help. I am getting this dirty RED screen effect on HDMI (LG CX Oled) connected to TS Binge Plus, which shouldn’t be the case.

I had faced same issue last year and I thought there might be some issue with the box and called for technician visit. But no Tata Sky technicians could figure this out. Then went back to regular HD box which solved the issue. SILLY ME, this time I thought I might get Tata Play Binge Plus STB with new hardware and SW, but to my surprise, they sent Tata Sky Binge box again. And the issue started again. Note: THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN STB IS IN OFF MODE.

Things I have tried:
  1. Toggle SDR To HDR (Both ON and OFF)
  2. Changed resolution
  3. Turned of screensaver
  4. Turned off HDMI Deep Color setting on LG TV (This is the one that enable HDR for TS Box)
  5. Reset my TV to original setting.
  6. Changed HDMI cables. Both 2.0 and 2.1.
  7. STB updated to latest version of SW (I think 3.1.7)
  8. TV OS updated to latest version
After all this, I'm still getting this RED Screen when I turn on the TV to TS input..

Also, I'm not able to post images to this thread. Getting "The uploaded file was not an image as expected" prompt.

Any HELP!! regarding this is much appreciated. Thanks..

Stay Safe

Tarun
 
Last edited:
Solution
Guys I need help. I am getting this dirty RED screen effect on HDMI (LG CX Oled) connected to TS Binge Plus, which shouldn’t be the case.

I had faced same issue last year and I thought there might be some issue with the box and called for technician visit. But no Tata Sky technicians could figure this out. Then went back to regular HD box which solved the issue. SILLY ME, this time I thought I might get Tata Play Binge Plus STB with new hardware and SW, but to my surprise, they sent Tata Sky Binge box again. And the issue started again. Note: THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN STB IS IN OFF MODE.

Things I have tried:
  1. Toggle SDR To HDR (Both ON and OFF)
  2. Changed resolution
  3. Turned of screensaver
  4. Turned off HDMI Deep...

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
R u stating standby mode as switch off or switch off from mains?.I have treated switch off is off from mains itself..
Nop. I did exactly as you said. Switched off TV from mains, and left it off for almost an hour. Funny enough, the screen is now blue, which was red prior to this exercise. Let me know if you have anymore tricks left up your sleeve!! Thanks
 

Mr.Bhat

Contributor
Joined
30 Apr 2011
Messages
6,397
Solutions
1
Reaction score
9,179
Nop. I did exactly as you said. Switched off TV from mains, and left it off for almost an hour. Funny enough, the screen is now blue, which was red prior to this exercise. Let me know if you have anymore tricks left up your sleeve!! Thanks
If it worked then great...
1 thing u should get is ur TV display life is in danger..my relatives 2 LG TVs display gone within 2 years....I don't like LG brand TVs...
 

narender reddy

Registered
Joined
15 Sep 2018
Messages
418
Solutions
1
Reaction score
290
It didn't work 😥. And yes, have completely lost faith in LG brand now. Feels like Sony is the way to go...
LG CX series tv s r lot of problems there mainly display issues , my neighbour is using CX 48 inch tv, display gone in 3 months, I'm using Sony 4k tv since 3 years still I'm didn't face any problem,

 

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
Guys I need help. I am getting this dirty RED screen effect on HDMI (LG CX Oled) connected to TS Binge Plus, which shouldn’t be the case.

I had faced same issue last year and I thought there might be some issue with the box and called for technician visit. But no Tata Sky technicians could figure this out. Then went back to regular HD box which solved the issue. SILLY ME, this time I thought I might get Tata Play Binge Plus STB with new hardware and SW, but to my surprise, they sent Tata Sky Binge box again. And the issue started again. Note: THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN STB IS IN OFF MODE.

Things I have tried:
  1. Toggle SDR To HDR (Both ON and OFF)
  2. Changed resolution
  3. Turned of screensaver
  4. Turned off HDMI Deep Color setting on LG TV (This is the one that enable HDR for TS Box)
  5. Reset my TV to original setting.
  6. Changed HDMI cables. Both 2.0 and 2.1.
  7. STB updated to latest version of SW (I think 3.1.7)
  8. TV OS updated to latest version
After all this, I'm still getting this RED Screen when I turn on the TV to TS input..

Also, I'm not able to post images to this thread. Getting "The uploaded file was not an image as expected" prompt.

Any HELP!! regarding this is much appreciated. Thanks..

Stay Safe

Tarun
Guys, I'm moving to Sony OLED now. Will keep this issue open and updated. Thanks for all the HELP!!!
 

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
Some TVs settings have blue screen option if no signal, see if it is there in yours. Turn it off.
Nop. Since I have an OLED TV, images cannot be static, i.e., RED/BLUE no signal screen. That will cause burn-in issues, ergo, both the image and the no signal text remain dynamic in nature.. I swear to god, if it wasn't for those inky blacks and infinite contrast ratio, I would've stuck with regular LED TV :verysad2:. Anywho, I'm buying Sony TV now, lets see how TS fairs on that...

 

Oppili_k

Contributor
Joined
4 Jul 2021
Messages
168
Solutions
2
Reaction score
277
Workaround is there, change the hdmi port in use with TV Remote, after STB turn off, when needed again select hdmi of STB.

Probably you are already doing this. But this to be done evertime TV need to be used without STB.

Binge+ remote AV button can also be programmed for selecting hdmi and av.
 

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
Guys I need help. I am getting this dirty RED screen effect on HDMI (LG CX Oled) connected to TS Binge Plus, which shouldn’t be the case.

I had faced same issue last year and I thought there might be some issue with the box and called for technician visit. But no Tata Sky technicians could figure this out. Then went back to regular HD box which solved the issue. SILLY ME, this time I thought I might get Tata Play Binge Plus STB with new hardware and SW, but to my surprise, they sent Tata Sky Binge box again. And the issue started again. Note: THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN STB IS IN OFF MODE.

Things I have tried:
  1. Toggle SDR To HDR (Both ON and OFF)
  2. Changed resolution
  3. Turned of screensaver
  4. Turned off HDMI Deep Color setting on LG TV (This is the one that enable HDR for TS Box)
  5. Reset my TV to original setting.
  6. Changed HDMI cables. Both 2.0 and 2.1.
  7. STB updated to latest version of SW (I think 3.1.7)
  8. TV OS updated to latest version
After all this, I'm still getting this RED Screen when I turn on the TV to TS input..

Also, I'm not able to post images to this thread. Getting "The uploaded file was not an image as expected" prompt.

Any HELP!! regarding this is much appreciated. Thanks..

Stay Safe

Tarun
OK fellas, it wan't the TV. It is the Binge + box that is at fault. Same thing has happened on my new A80J.. F Tata Play.... :mad::angry2:. Now i'm surprised that not many people have concerns about this issue..
 

Tarun_Venk

Registered
Joined
15 Feb 2022
Messages
12
Solutions
1
Reaction score
4
Guys I need help. I am getting this dirty RED screen effect on HDMI (LG CX Oled) connected to TS Binge Plus, which shouldn’t be the case.

I had faced same issue last year and I thought there might be some issue with the box and called for technician visit. But no Tata Sky technicians could figure this out. Then went back to regular HD box which solved the issue. SILLY ME, this time I thought I might get Tata Play Binge Plus STB with new hardware and SW, but to my surprise, they sent Tata Sky Binge box again. And the issue started again. Note: THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN STB IS IN OFF MODE.

Things I have tried:
  1. Toggle SDR To HDR (Both ON and OFF)
  2. Changed resolution
  3. Turned of screensaver
  4. Turned off HDMI Deep Color setting on LG TV (This is the one that enable HDR for TS Box)
  5. Reset my TV to original setting.
  6. Changed HDMI cables. Both 2.0 and 2.1.
  7. STB updated to latest version of SW (I think 3.1.7)
  8. TV OS updated to latest version
After all this, I'm still getting this RED Screen when I turn on the TV to TS input..

Also, I'm not able to post images to this thread. Getting "The uploaded file was not an image as expected" prompt.

Any HELP!! regarding this is much appreciated. Thanks..

Stay Safe

Tarun
ISSUE SOLVED>>>>>>>>>>>>

It seems TATA SKY/PLAY has pathetic HDMI response when it come handshake with newer versions of HDCP... It goes outta wack if it has to send high-bandwidth signal, again this is what happens when you go cheap...

After a lot of research, and changing a TV, I resolved the issue. Just had to bypass the HDCP issue by adding an HDMI switch o_O. You get a lot of HDMI switches on Amazon. Do your research and buy a good one. I bought Kinivo or something. But it solved all the issues I had with this nightmare experience.

Thanks to everyone who gave suggestions with regards to this. Cheers

Regards,
Darth Vader



time wars GIF
 
Last edited:
Solution
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock