Set up requirements for dish antenna for FTA channels

• Thread starter zoom!
  • Start date
  • Replies: Replies 12
  • Views: Views 15,251

zoom!

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to this world of Sattelite based transmission and reception. So far, I was completely dependant on my cable operator for the TV channels, but now since these analog connections will end within this week in my city, I was looking for alternatives.
DTH, sounds easy and promising, but before I initiate anything on that, I would like to know how easy or difficult it is to use a dish antenna, recievers, and set top box for only the FTA channels.
What the cost implications will be, if I need any specific hardware, and from where to source it, and further, if installation requires technical knowledge.

I'm sure there should be a large amount of resources around, specially with ongoing discussions, but because I was unable to find any related content, I'm posting this thread.

Thanks, what should be the starting budget, and when you say interest, is it about the channels / satellites to receive?
I'm absolutely not sure about the system or technical requirements, further, I have no clue what hardware I need and how the signals will become picture on my TV.

there are Transponders in which C band & Ku Band are there....

All Paid DTH's are using this KU Band ..... With Universal LNB......

So Only DDD+ Free of 59 Channels ...... It is from our Govt..............

All FTA Channels (Maximum) are From C band Band from Various Sats......

I dont know Where you are from?

You need Minimum of 6 Ft Dish Antenna (183 cms) and a C band LNB to watch some good C band FTA Channels.....

SO You have to Buy 6 FT or More Dish Antenna Costs Nearly 2000-3000

and C band LNB Costs 250-500

In that Dish You also get the Signals From Ku Band Transponder by using Universal LNB or C+KU LNB...

You Can Check the FTA List in

LyngSat

and the Sat footprints there......

If you are from north Some Sats are good.....