Good News Replaced my Flextronics HD Box with Cal Comp HD Smart Box

Siva

Staff member
Dream SMOD
Joined
20 Jul 2014
Messages
7,231
Likes
9,569
#1
Hey Guys,

I was using the Flextronics HD HEVC box which was quite good. But @Vadirocks bro tempted me with his comments about the PQ and AQ on this new Cal Comp HD box:smile:. So, I requested an upgrade yesterday by writing an email to the Nodal. I got the new box today. The cost was 200 INR for the box (Deducted from account balance) + 150 INR for the service engineer, total 350 INR. Box Pics below.





I explored the settings and found that most of the settings are similar to the regular HD boxes. However, the dominant color on the UI now is yellow, and the menu navigation has been changed from vertical to horizontal, I guess it's the same in Technicolor HEVC HD box too. I felt that this UI is just a touch slower than the old UI. Few more pics below.

User Interface:







Settings Menu:





Favorites Menu:



EPG:





In this box, we need to click Up/Down arrow to view the next/previous channel's EPG while we are watching one channel. This was achieved through Right/Left arrow in the old boxes. Need to get used to this.

I found the "Play from USB" option interesting. I connected my Sony 1 TB hard drive to the STB to try and play movies, however it wasn't recognized. Not sure if we need to format with some other file system type.

PQ and AQ:

HD Channels:

The HD channel PQ is sharper on this box and AQ is similar to the Flextronics box. So this is great.

HD Channel Pics:









SD Channels:

SD channel PQ is similar to the Flextronics box and there is no improvement.

SD Channel Pics:





EPG:

The EPG is a bit difficult to read on this STB. The channel name keeps scrolling instead of staying constant. So, it's tough to look at both the channel name and program in parallel since they are arranged horizontally. It was very easy to read on the Flextronics box where the channel name and program name were arranged vertically. This box loses here.

Bugs/Features Missing:

The language can't be changed using the Blue button on remote.
UI is a little slow compared to the red UI on other HD boxes.
Sometimes, audio stutters on HD channels. We need to go to another channel and then come back to this channel to fix this issue.
MKV files are always playing in full screen when using "Play from USB" feature.

Overall, I think this box beats the Flextronics box in HD channels PQ, equals to it in SD channels PQ and loses to it in terms of UI and EPG. So there you have it, you can decide which box to use based on these points.
 
Last edited:

Deepu Darling

Sandeep Reddy
Staff member
Dream MOD
Joined
6 Sep 2014
Messages
6,200
Likes
10,344
#4
Always lucky @Siva Bro(y)

Congratulations 🎊
 

sarube

Registered
Joined
4 Nov 2013
Messages
156
Likes
67
#5
Hey Guys,

I was using the Flextronics HD HEVC box which was quite good. But @Vadirocks bro tempted me with his comments about the PQ and AQ on this new Cal Comp HD box:smile:. So, I requested an upgrade yesterday by writing an email to the Nodal. I got the new box today. The cost was 450 INR for the box (Will be deducted from account balance) + 150 INR for the service engineer, total 600 INR. Box Pics below.





Box is not activated yet, so the channels are not coming. They said it would take sometime for the activation, as this is HD to HD STB upgrade. It should be done by tomorrow 10 AM at max. Will comment on the PQ and AQ once the activation is done.

I explored the settings in the mean time and found that most of the settings are similar to the regular HD boxes. However, the dominant color on the UI now is yellow, and the menu navigation has been changed from vertical to horizontal, I guess it's the same in Technicolor HEVC HD box too. I felt that this UI is just a touch slower than the old UI. Few more pics below.

User Interface:







Settings Menu:





Favorites Menu:



EPG:





In this box, we need to click Up/Down arrow to view the next/previous channel's EPG while we are watching one channel. This was achieved through Right/Left arrow in the old boxes. Need to get used to this.

I found the "Play from USB" option interesting. I connected my Sony 1 TB hard drive to the STB to try and play movies, however it wasn't recognized. Not sure if we need to format with some other file system type.

I will update the review with the PQ and AQ details, once I get the channels.
Its just my thought. I would say you have wasted your money doing HD to HD upgrade. Its not going to bring any difference. 😕 . Again it's just my thoughts.
 

Anish Pai

Dream Expert
Joined
1 May 2011
Messages
3,710
Likes
3,046
#7
Congrats Bro. Enjoy with the new box.

Hope u have checked the signal levels and they are satisfactory
 

Riddhiman

Dream Legend
Joined
22 Sep 2017
Messages
2,294
Likes
4,216
#8
Congrats @Siva bro. Bro After channel activation please check one thing, that if you able to change channel audio by pressing blue button or not? In technicolor box Only yellow button work, other is useless.
 

Siva

Staff member
Dream SMOD
Joined
20 Jul 2014
Messages
7,231
Likes
9,569
#10
Its just my thought. I would say you have wasted your money doing HD to HD upgrade. Its not going to bring any difference. 😕 . Again it's just my thoughts.
Yeah, I know. However, It does makes sense, if there is a difference in PQ and AQ of the SD and HD channels on this box (Which is what I heard and prompted me to get it) compared to my old box. Aside, it has a new UI and Play from USB feature and probably will get updates for longer time than the old models. Hoping for the best.
Congrats Bro. Enjoy with the new box.

Hope u have checked the signal levels and they are satisfactory
Yes bro, signal levels are fine.
Congrats @Siva bro. Bro After channel activation please check one thing, that if you able to change channel audio by pressing blue button or not? In technicolor box Only yellow button work, other is useless.
Sure bro, will check this once the activation is done.
 
Top Bottom